Please be patient,
This may take a few moments.

Attention! Important Announcement!

*FALL SPECIAL* 9 OR 18 HOLES WITH CART $20.00 EVERYDAY
Last updated at 10/10/2017 9:38:41 pm

Learn a Little Bit About Chapel Hill

West Side of the Club House, circa 1910-1920Chapel Hill Golf Course and Event Center is a public 18 hole golf course and event venue located southeast of Princeton, in north-central Illinois. Tracing its roots to the original Bureau Valley Country Club (BVCC), this once private course is steeped in tradition and history dating back to 1909, where it began as a simple stop along the Inter-Urban rail line between Princeton and Bureau Junction.

A Brief History of the Bureau Valley Country Club

Originally built on 70 acres east of Princeton, nestled along the Inter-Urban Railroad, the BVCC was situated on some of the most picturesque property in the entire state. Its golf course, club house and grounds, which included three suspension bridges, were laid out in 1911. These three footbridges were deemed landmarks by the surrounding county and utilized cables taken from the 1909 Cherry Mine disaster. These bridges conveniently connected the links together and helped members, quests and workers make their way across the scenic oak and elm covered ravines running throughout the course.

Suspension Bridge once located behind the Club HouseThe new Bureau Valley Country Club opened its doors to the public on August 20th, 1913. In grand fashion, the community marked the occasion with a stately dedication ceremony and lavish banquet, complete with an evening full of music, song and dance.

Over the last century, the BVCC provided its members and area citizens with countless events, activities and celebrations. Due to the influential role it played in the area's social fabric, the BVCC quickly became a staple of the Princeton and Bureau County community, playing host to outings, events, and dances of all shapes and sizes.

As popularity grew, the BVCC continued to add amenities and features to the course, club house and grounds. The most notable of additions coming in 1997, when work began to add 9 new holes to the original course as well as reconstructing several existing greens. These significant additions as well as the addition of extra tees and bunkers significantly enhanced the course's playability and enjoyability for all players.

Following the sale of the property in 2003, the country club was renamed Hunter's Ridge and shed its private status; offering non-members a chance to play for the first time as a public course.

Then & Now, Our Club House in the 1930's and Today!In the summer of 2013, the course was purchased by the Husemann family and rechristened the Chapel Hill Golf Course and Event Center. It is their goal to provide both friends and neighbors the opportunity to enjoy the course and confines in a family oriented, friendly and affordable atmosphere.

As we look back, it is often difficult to imagine just how many rounds of golf have been played on our course throughout her last hundred years. However, we truly hope you stop out soon for a visit, maybe share with us your life's most special moments and most assuredly, help us enjoy her next hundred!